Shield 304 Scholarship Award recipients

    Recipients of the newly established The Shield 304 Scholarship Award, include, from left: Morgan Miller, Duke Packer and Jazmin Williams.  Miller, a 2019 graduate of Mattawan High School, plans to pursue a nurse practitioner - para-med. career. Packer, a 2019 graduate of Lawton Community Schools, aspires to become a paramedic/flight nurse; while Williams, a 2019 Paw Paw High School graduate, wants a career as a firefighter. The money was given by the Riley Manning Memorial Fund and established by the Lawton Fire Association.  Manning, a cadet on the Mattawan Fire District (Shield Number 304), passed away April 28, 2016. At the time of his death, he was in his senior year at the Van Buren Intermediate School District’s Technology Center’s Welding and Advanced Manufacturing program. A scholarship in his name through the VBISD will be established next year. The Riley Manning Memorial Fund plans to make a $2,500 annual donation to the Lawton Fire Association. Members of the Scholarship Committee include Joe Mayne, Chad Horton, Todd Hackenberg, Terry Teeter and John Miller.    Courier-Leader photo/Paul Garrod

The Courier-Leader & Paw Paw Flashes

The Courier-Leader & Paw Paw Flashes
32280 E. Red Arrow Hwy. • P.O. Box 129
Paw Paw, MI 49079
(269) 657-5080

Email Us

Facebook Pinterest