Paw Paw’s Middle and High School teams tops at Regional Science Olympiad

Paul Garrod,
Paw Paw Middle School’s Science Olympiad Team took first place for the seventh year in a row in Regional competition at Kalamazoo Valley Community College.	Paw Paw Middle School students Caleb Learned and Peniel Daspan, above,  are shown during competition Monday at the Southwestern Michigan Regional Science Olympiad. From left, Nathaniel McCloskey, Nick Johnson, Maddie Plangger, and Jake Caron, display their “Scrambler.”  The students earned gold and silver medals in the event.The Mattawan Middle School team members are headed for the State competition
with their second place finish at the Regional Science Olympiad.


    OSHTEMO - Paw Paw High School and Paw Paw Middle School Science Olympiad teams took top honors, while the Mattawan Middle School Science Olympiad Team took second place on Monday during the 34th annual Southwestern Michigan Regional Science Olympiad Tournament.
    The Region 13 Science Olympiad competition took place at Kalamazoo Valley Community College, where high schools and middle schools from Van Buren, Cass, and St. Joseph counties participated in the competition of STEM-related scientific concepts.
    It marked the seventh consecutive year that the Paw Paw Middle School team captured the top honors.
    The teams will now compete in the state tournament at Michigan State University on April 29.
    Earning  Gold medals for Paw Paw Middle School were:
    Derek Ballard and Taryn Welling - Bottle Rockets;
    Kylie Cox and Annalisa Maichele - Crime Busters;
    Annalisa Maichele, Kylie Cox and Katie Wierenga - Experimental Design;
    Annalisa Maichele and Katie Wierenga - Microbe Mission;
    Mya Cuper and AJ Flanders - Mission Possible;
    Sophia Brink and Aliyah Viney - Road Scholar;
    Sophia Brink and Aliyah Viney - Rocks and Minerals;
    Nathaniel McCloskey and  Nickolas Johnson - Scrambler;
    Sophia Brink and Aliyah Viney - Towers;
    Jacob Bell and Keegan Barr - Wind Power;
    Jack McLaughlin and Amelia Gibbs - Wright Stuff;
    Alyson Olson and Molly McNitt - Optics.
    Earning Silver medals were:
    Kylie Cox and Katie Wierenga - Dynamic Planet;
    Derek Ballard and Taryn Welling - Food Science;
    Jack McLaughlin and Amelia Gibbs - Reach for the Stars;
    Molly McNitt and Amelia Gibbs - Bottle Rocket;
    Sophie Mencl and Katie Wierenga - Crime Busters;
    Nate Evans, Carey Towne and Sophie Mencle - Experimental Design;
    Peniel Daspan and Caleb Learned - Fast Facts;
    Nate Evans and Carey Towne - Microbe Mission;
    Peniel Daspan and Calel Learned - Mission Possible;
    Maddie Plangger and Jake Caron - Scrambler;
    Rosemary Knapp and Megan Hiestand - Towers;
    Kylie Bell and Molly McNitt - Wind Power;
    Abby Kuhlman and Elana Wierenga - Wright Stuff.
    Earning Bronze medals were:
    Derek Ballard and Taryn Welling - Disease Detective;
    Kylie Cox and Annalisa Maichele - Ecology;
    Mya Cuper and AJ Flanders - Write It, Do It;
    Abby Kuhlman and Elana Wierenga - Food Science;
    Kylie Bell and Alyson Olson - Hovercraft.
    Earning Gold medals for Paw Paw High School were:
    Ryan Brennan and Sean McLaughlin - Chemistry Lab;
    Jim McCaw and Lian Glomski - Disease Detectives;
    Major Stevens and David Heidema  - Electric Vehicle;
    Jasmine Lassin, Mara Anderson, and Connor Welling -  Experimental Design;
    Hailey Emmons and Lian Glomski - Invasive Species’
    Mara Anderson and Jim McCaw  - Rocks and Minerals;
    Connor Welling and David Heidema for Wind Power.
    Silver medal winners included:
    Major Stevens and Jasmine Lassin - Astronomy;
    Sean McLaughlin and Jasmine Lassin - Dynamic Planet;
    Ryan Brennan and Lian Glomski - Forensics;
    Connor Welling and David Heidema - Helicopters;
    Noah Dalton and Sean McLaughlin - Materials Science;
    Jonah Matthews and Noah Dalton - Robot Arm.
    Bronze Medal winners were:
    Ryan Brennan and Jonah Matthews - Ecology;
    Alec Schlotterback and Jonah Matthews - Remote Sensing.
    Fourth place medal winners were:
    Alec Schlotterback and Noah Dalton - Game On;
    Jonah Matthews and David Heidema - Hydrogeology;
    Major Stevens and Emma Johnson - Microbe Mission.
    The Mattawan Middle School Science Olympiad Team advanced to the State Championship. With the help of grant funding from the MDE (Michigan Department of Education) and MPEF (Mattawan Public Education Foundation), the team was able to place second at the competition.
    Team participants included:  Ana Roach, Brian Weaver, Sophia Williamson, Adrian Gatlin, Colin Feucht, Noah Nelson, Olivia Schreuder, Niko Lewis, Maddie Sutton, Gabriella Esch, Max Scott, Nathan Finch, Ethan Stull, Max Berkowitz,  Natalie Muresan, Emily Christiansen, Ben Kaczmar, Andy Kaczmar, Genevieve Woodby, Shelby Beeke, Anthony Williamson, Makeena Bodzianski, Ayla Cross, Emma Gariepy and Garret Owel.


The Courier-Leader & Paw Paw Flashes

The Courier-Leader & Paw Paw Flashes
32280 E. Red Arrow Hwy. • P.O. Box 129
Paw Paw, MI 49079
(269) 657-5080

Email Us

Facebook Pinterest