Eight Redskins earn soccer honors, and Coach of the Year

Butch Hindenach • pawtwice@bloomingdalecom.net

   The outstanding season Paw Paw’s boys soccer team just completed was well noticed; a large number of the players have been selected as honor team members.  
   Named to the Wolverine All-Conference First Team are Justin Boven, Jacob Broadwater, Sean McLaughlin, and Garrett Lennon. 
   Boven was a key member of the Redskins’ strong defensive  presence all season, while Broadwater and McLaughlin provided much of the offense this season, as they have in previous seasons also. As goalkeeper, Lennen set a school record with six consecutive shutouts in goal, and a total of nine for the season, third best in Redskin soccer history.  These four players have been  honored by the league in previous seasons also.
   Placed on the All-Conference Second Team was Ryan Brennan, his second year of league recognition for  his skills, and Noah Gledhill, who showed a  great deal of improvement as the season progressed. Gledhill joined Broadwater and McLaughlin as the team’s three leading assist producers.
   Honorable Mention honors went to Brady Flanders and Sam Wood, for their many contributions to the success of a team that by season’s end, was arguably the best team in the league. 
   Paw Paw head coach Steven McLaughlin was selected as the Coach of the Year. After a slow start, McLaughlin rallied his team to a late season nine-game winning streak, which gave them a District tournament  trophy, and a place in the Regional finals.
   Four Redskins made the All-State team also. Sean McLaughlin was named to the Second Team as a midfielder, while Jacob Broadwater (forward), Ryan Estes (defender), and Garret Lennen (keeper) all were placed on the All-State Honorable Mention squad.


The Courier-Leader & Paw Paw Flashes

The Courier-Leader & Paw Paw Flashes
32280 E. Red Arrow Hwy. • P.O. Box 129
Paw Paw, MI 49079
(269) 657-5080

Email Us

Facebook Pinterest